TV commercials

Just watched all 26 finalist ads for the MoveOn Voter’s Fund “Bush in 30 seconds” contest. If they raise enough money, the winning spot will be broadcast during the Super Bowl. It’ll be interesting to see if the ad has as big of an impact as the 1984 Apple Macintosh ad shown in the same time slot.

Anyways, watching all the ads made me marvel once again at the enormous creativity and cleverness that gets the message through to the viewers. Once upon a time, I wanted to make TV commercials. Today, I just watch them to analyze how they are or aren’t getting their message across.

My mom was telling me how she didn’t think Verizon’s TV commercials helped promote them. “That guy who keeps saying ‘Can you hear me now?’ seems to be showing how staticky their connections are. Why would you want to use a service where you had to interrupt your conversation to see if they could still hear you?” I told her I thought it was meant to show how dedicated Verizon was in constantly testing their connections. But I’m sure there’s other people out there who misinterpret Verizon’s campaign the same way….

And there are some ads that are so annoying that I resolve never to purchase what they sell. There’s an ad for an Italian wine that features a woman with an exageratedly fake Italian accent touting la dolce vita italiana. It’s so obnoxiously annoying: I would give up alcohol than drink their wine, if it was the last bottle on earth.

One thought on “TV commercials

  1. I tried to watch the MoveOn spots, but didn’t have much luck since we don’t have a broadband connection. It was like watching oatmeal dry.

    Did you know that this year’s Super Bowl will mark the 20th anniversary of the now famous commercial that introduced the Macintosh computer to the world? I learned this on an NPR interview of the man (can’t remember his name now) responsible for starting development of the Macintosh, before Steve Jobs took over the project. He named the computer after his favorite type of apple. I think he still lives here in the Bay Area. He didn’t sound bitter, but it sounded like he was fired from the project after Steve Jobs was hired.

Leave a Reply

