Voting is hard

I’ve got to complete my absentee ballot, since I’m leaving town Friday and won’t be able to drop off my ballot on Tuesday to save on postage. See my earlier entry. And the kicker is this ballot is going require 83 cents!

Anyways, some of the selections are no brainers: President, stem cell research. But there are so many propositions on the ballot, some concern unfamiliar pieces of legislation. And even though I’m a civil servant, and do some policy work, I really can’t figure out what all those propositions are really about, when I read the voter’s guide.

In some ways, it’s been a bit of relief that most of these props aren’t particularly of interest to wealthy lobbyists, otherwise there would have been more ads on them (Political ads on TV irk me particulary, I’m always relieved on Wednesdays after, when they cease.) But in a way, it also feels like I know less about them.

Most people vote no on issues they don’t understand. I usually just leave those blank: my theory is that would be least harm done.

We make such a big deal about the right to vote; and this year voter registration has hit record highs. An encouraging sign, but also scary . . . if you don’t know what it’s about that you’re voting on, isn’t there a possibility that you could be manipulated into voting for something that might not actually align with your choices? Voting is a right, cherished or taken for granted. But it is also a huge responsibility, it takes a lot of work on each individual to exercise it properly.

2 thoughts on “Voting is hard

  1. I couldn’t believe how much crap i had to vote on, right down to the county and city level! I spent days doing research and reading on as many of the measures as i could. Check out http://www.smartvoter.org; pretty decent resources for reading both sides of the arguement for each proposition and measure.

  2. >Voting is a right, cherished or taken for granted. But it is also a huge responsibility, it takes a lot of work on each individual to exercise it properly.

    I agree C2. Unfortunately, not many people take this civic duty that seriously, and yet expect to have their complaints about the government taken seriously. I wonder if this self-absorption has always existed since the beginnings of our nation. Perhaps representative democracy does have some merit after all. Do people really want to devote enough time to understand ALL the issues so that they can cast an INFORMED direct vote?

    I usually read over the entire booklet of pro/con arguements one night and then make my final decisions after a few days to give time for things to settle in and maybe look up some things.

    j.

Leave a Reply

