Indelible first music impressions

Many of us probably get our main impressions of music from TV. Who doesn’t know how to sing the Oscar Meyer baloney song? (Or gone “Aha, I’ve heard that tune on ‘Looney Tunes’ or ‘Merrie Melody’” at a classical music concert.)

Herb Alpert’s ‘Rise’ is the correspondingly sultry Cherilon pantyhose commercial on Thai TV in the 1980’s. John Philip Sousa’s ‘Stars and Stripes Forever’ was used for the opening credits of the evening news. The Beatles’ “All You Need is Love” was used for a Mum deodorant commercial around the same time on Thai TV. In fact I can still remember the lyrics.

Ta khun dong kan mee palang
Ta khun dong kan mee palang
Ta khun dong kan mee palang, palang
Ti khun dong kan khue Mum

(If you need power
If you need power
If what you need is power, power
What you need is Mum)

At that time I didn’t know it was a Beatle’s song, and didn’t find out until many years later, until I bought the Magical Mystery Tour album.

Bobby Hebb’s “Sunny”. I hear that song and replay in my mind George Lam Chi Cheung singing Cantonese lyrics for an animated Hong Kong TV commercial hawking the Sarsi sarsaparilla drink.

There’s a famous classical tune that always makes me think of the Nom Tra Mee (Bear brand tinned milk) commercial in Thailand. I can’t remember the name nor composer, and it’s bugging me that I can’t find it online. I even tried humming it to Christina over the phone, but since I’m off key, she couldn’t tell either. (Obviously I was one of those delinquents who did not dedicate herself to classical music lessons in piano or violin or whatever.)

Leave a Reply

