Ruam Mit 15

I love seeing “You’ve been pledged” email! I signed up to do a swimming fundraiser for the second year in a row for the Women’s Cancer Resource Center in Oakland. This year I’ve been more active in soliciting pledges, i.e. hitting up all my friends and family via email. The organizers have set up an online pledge system, where folks can pledge by credit card. Everytime someone does so, they send me a little email “You’ve been pledged.” Thank you everyone who’s pledged so far, and for those of you who haven’t, you have til September.

* * * * * * * * * * * *

Things are still chugging along in preparation for my best friend’s wedding. I’ve taken to wearing the high-heeled bridemaid’s shoes around the house, so I can get used to running around in them. It’s amazing how those heels can slow you down, and make you walk in a more sedate and ladylike fashion. (When we went shopping for those shoes, my suggestion for rubbah slippahs got shot down.) One of my fellow bridesmaids told us her test for buying high heeled shoes: you have to be able to jog in them. So there she was, trotting around the shoe section.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Work on my volunteer write-up barely moved last week, as I discovered the joys and frustrations of Powerpoint. (I had volunteered to do a slideshow for the wedding.) Powerpoint can be such a big timesucker. With a quick tutorial from a friend of a friend, I learnt how to incorporate fancy animation and songs, which made me feel so clever. Plus it was fun just working on it, figuring out the order of photos, the captions, etc. Joe and I did have huge disagreement over the inclusion of song from a popular 70’s family TV show. I’m not sure it’s resolved yet.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Did I mention Fourth of July: We went biking. I took my Terry road bicycle out for the very first time (I’m sorry to say I bought it a year ago!). It’s fun to ride, but I will have to do a lot of seat adjustments. Either that, or I have to get used to the feeling of being hunched up. We stopped by my aunt’s in Menlo Park. After lunch, I discovered I had a puncture. Which is why you should always have two bicycles, because later that evening we biked over to Shoreline Park via the Stevens Creek Trail to watch the fireworks.
The San Francisco Symphony always has their Fourth of July Pops concert at Shoreline Amphitheater, complete with fireworks. And it’s the only night of the year that Stevens Creek Trail is open to accomodate the crowds going to watch the fireworks (usually it’s closed after dark).
The unexpected bonus is that because Shoreline Park is on the edge of the bay, you can also look out and see other fireworks going on in the distance, like Redwood City, Fremont?, Cupertino?, Stanford?. But the best of course is having the fireworks dancing right over you, larger than life.

Nobody doesn’t enjoy fireworks. It must be such fun to be the designer of fireworks, figuring out the hues and formations.

Leave a Reply

