Fishwrap

We get the daily paper, but lately the San Jose Mercury has become so putrid ever since they went with a format change in a bid to become the local USA Today, I was considering cancelling the subscription and getting the San Francisco Chronicle instead. Until I bought last Sunday’s edition of the Chron and found it almost as pointless.

Herb Caen, where are you when we need you?

Newspapers are like fast food, it’s just something to chew on, it’s barely digestible, and not very satisfying.

“Why don’t you save yourself money and simply read the newspaper online?” Jason suggested. Problem is, I need my 22.5″ inches of black and white newsprint on to really get going in the morning, even if now it’s just to check in on Mr. Roadshow and the four comic strips, (I don’t even read the Dear Abby’s Daughter column.) Plus I need something to peruse as I eat. I know, bad habit and a complete dining etiquette faux pas.

Oddly enough, even the domestic editions of Time and Newsweek seem so dumbed down compared to the editions I read when I was back in Asia. Most of the American editions seemed to focus on social/marketing trends, with hardly any discussion on current affairs in the rest of the world.

3 thoughts on “Fishwrap

  1. The Chonic has an endearing habit of taking AP wire stories, using editorial licence to delete the parts they don’t like and then slap a “Chronicle News Service” or some other vague label on it. Now THAT’S real reporting for ‘ya!! Watch out as all the pulitzers come flying their way. LOL

    On the other hand, be glad you don’t have to read what’s left of the Examiner…

    >>”Plus I need something to peruse as I eat. I know, bad habit and a complete dining etiquette faux pas.”

  2. >”Plus I need something to peruse as I eat. I know, bad habit and a complete dining etiquette faux pas.”

    For X-mas, I’ll get you guys a subscription to “The Onion”, the only decent paper being published now in the bay area–LOL.

Leave a Reply

