Ruam Mit 19

My local second hand bookstore has a great selection. Better yet, they send out 25% off-everything coupons a couple times a year. This last one was about to expire on Sunday, so I went in for a browse.

Thing is, with my bookcases stuffed to the gills, I was reluctant to buy anything that wasn’t worth making space for, and there aren’t any books I’m particularly hankering for. On the other hand, I don’t like passing up a discount opportunity.

I ended up buying

a dozen foreign phrase books. They’re very compact, and it’ll be very handy to know how to say “Please bring me the salt and pepper” in German, Japanese, French, Italian, Dutch, Greek, Hawaiian, Vietnamese, Russian and Turkish. (They didn’t have any Korean or Hindi phrasebooks that day.)

* * * *

Trivia season is over. At the OASES contest, we came in top third, and won $10 BART tickets and commuter mugs. At the APILO contest, we didn’t do as well, and won Famous Amos cookies and Altoids. I promptly traded them for a jar of kimchee and some bright bottled sauce. I thought it was chili sauce, but it’s banana sauce from the Phillipines. I never knew such a thing existed. I look forward to trying it out.

* * * * * *

I’ve become a little hooked on sudoku lately. I figured since I’m getting old, I needed to do some mental exercise to keep the brain from totally deteriorating. Also, having had to fly across the Pacific recently, I didn’t want to bring books that I would finish reading too fast on the flight. Being the cheapskate that I am, I simply cut out a week’s worth of sudoku puzzles from the daily newspaper and pasted them on alternating pages of a junk mail catalog. (This was I could flip the page to check the answers!) It kept me busy and I could recycle the booklet afterwards.

Leave a Reply

