Wat Jarritos

Cross-cultural sideways indeed!

Channel surfing just now, I just caught a commercial on one of the Spanish language channels peddling Jarritos (a Mexican soda pop that comes in orange, tamarind hibiscus flavors. They’re available at any self-respecting taqueria). I did a double take because it was set in a temple with stupas, with saffron robed, shaved-head monks: it all looked very Thai-ish! I didn’t understand the premise of it.

It’s on YouTube, if anyone whose Spanish is better than mine and can explain it to me, I’d be grateful.

UPDATE: Someone told me the punchline is “Jarritos brings out the Mexican in anyone.” The monks in the commercial were chanting “chingon”, which is slang for ‘dang good!’

Leave a Reply

