Fresh vs. Frozen

I bought some fresh soybeans that the kiwi guy was selling at Farmer’s Market. I usually get the frozen ones from the store, marketed as edamame. I know how long to boil those. I didn’t know how long to boil the fresh ones.
Maybe I didn’t boil them long enough (since I’d rather undercook than overcook anything); they were a bit firm, almost crunchy.

The interesting thing is that the fresh ones taste ‘cleaner’, i.e. they don’t have the same prominent ‘soybean-y’ flavor as the frozens ones that I also boiled. Not that one is better than the other, I like the flavor of both. It’s like fresh corn and canned corn. They’re different, but I like them both.

Leave a Reply

