Parmesan rinds

We’re growing kale, and we had big o’ rind of parmesan left from all the pesto we’d made this summer. I found a recipe online for kale and bean soup that also used parmesan rind. I was a little wary: what happens to cheese when you boil it in soup, does it melt? does it stick to the bottom of the pot?

It turned out really tasty. The parmesan was just this floppy, chewy-looking flat square which got tossed out. The soup was still brothy, but you could taste this really delicious flavor imparted by the parmesan. I can’t describe it, but the sensation reminds me of truffles.

In spirit, but not in genetics: I am descended from Italian peasants who didn’t let any food go to waste!

Now I’m jonesing for more parmesan rind. I wonder if I can find some store that grates their own parmesan to sell me rinds for cheap.

2 thoughts on “Parmesan rinds

  1. usually i try to buy the cuts from a fresh wheel and you can find the blocks from the center without any rind. but when i do have rinds, i put them in my grinder anyways and grind them over my pasta. mebbe i shouldn’t ’cause it probably wears down the grinding mechanism.

Leave a comment