Boiling away on four burners

On Tuesday, I decided to schedule the 2nd annual joong party for Saturday (today). As I write, the last three batches are boiling away. And since we never use up all the ingredients in proportion, and ran out of glutinious rice, Joe decided we should just continue tomorrow with the rest of the ingredients we got left. The rice needs to be soaked overnight . . . so we’re not done.

This year, I played around with different ingredients:
Glutinous rice
Side pork
Chinese sausage
Lap yuk (cured pork)
Mung beans
Salted egg yolks
Dried shrimp
Dried scallops
Tung lam leaves
Sauteed shallots
Roast duck instead of BBQ pork
Mushrooms, stewed in nam yu (new)
Peanuts (new)
Chestnuts (new)

Joe has delusions of putting in corned beef or Dittmer’s sausages in them one of these days. (Shudder.) He also suggested cashews or pistachios!

This year’s version is a hybrid between my mom-in-law’s recipe and my Yee-Ma’s recipe, which I just got this spring from Auntie Pauline. Another big change is I reduced the cooking time from 4 to 2 hours. I think it’ll be well done, but the flavors won’t be as well melded together. the rice grains will probably be distinct instead of being like mochi paste.

My uncle YY always puts in a special request for the red bean (sweet version.) But, he wants the red bean paste made from scratch at home, none of the store-bought red-bean paste filling for him. I tell him if he makes his own and brings it over, I’ll wrap for him. Ha! Maybe next year, I’ll be nice and do it for him. Maybe next year I’ll also salt my own duck eggs!

“What are we having for dinner?” Joe asked. Last year, we went out for Korean food, because after prepping and wrapping a gadzillion joong for the past 5 days, the last thing I wanted to eat was joong.

This year, well, we’ll have one for dinner because we need to taste test . . . the proof is in the pudding.

UPDATE: OK – 2 hours is cooked, but the beans and rice are chewier. I think we’ll go back to the 3 – 4 hr cooking time. The flavor’s not quite as developed. It’s relatively undersalted (something one of my relatives complained about last year), but you can add your own soy sauce to taste. I also find that I really like the flvor and texture of peanuts in joong.

Leave a Reply

