Average Americans

Is truth stranger than fiction? Or are dreams more real than life?

I couldn’t make this up even if I tried. I had a dream the other night in which I was at Tom Cruise and Katie Holmes’ house. My cousin T was there too. They asked us what it was like growing up as average Americans, as if they were trying to figure out how they could raise their daughter in an average American environment.
I said, “I don’t know, I grew up in Thailand!”
It was a strange question. Perhaps since they were such famous celebrities, they could no longer relate or remember what it was like to be anonymously-just-like-anyone-else.

And then I needed to take a shower (Apparently I was sweaty from running or some such exercise before arriving at their house.)

Their bathroom was rather odd. It consisted of a furo-sized bathtub and a shower both in the middle of their bedroom. In order to wash-up in privacy, one drew a white curtain with brown/green/orange stripes all the way enclosing the bathtub and shower, rather like those curtains in hospital wards that separate beds in shared rooms. Perhaps the Scientologist in Tom didn’t want his wife to have any absolute privacy from him.

Odd-set-up aside, it was a very sumptuously furnished bathroom. Except I couldn’t find any regular-sized soap or bottles of shampoo. All they had were sample-sized toiletries from various hotels they’d stayed at in their travels while filming abroad. In that sense, TomKat are average Americans. In my dreams, they take the hotel shampoos and lotions, just like the rest of us!

I finally found a regular-sized bottle of Chinese shampoo, but it was small even by American standards. “How did they end up with Chinese shampoo?” I wondered. “Oh yeah, Tom Cruise filmed MI3 in Shanghai a couple of years ago.”

In my waking life, I haven’t seen a Tom Cruise movie since the MI2, and I don’t remember when I last saw a Katie Holmes flick. I think they popped up in my dream because the day before, I had been catching up browsing several months’ worth of People magazines my sister-in-law brings to me when we visit Joe’s parents.

Leave a Reply

