Upcoming Curry Puff quest

Went down to SD last weekend. We’d been planning to go visit the parents (Joe’s) for a while, and unfortunately, Joe’s uncle passed away, which made the trip happen. While we were down there, Joe’s dad mentioned that we should bring some curry puff next time. I felt really guiilty, because Joe’s dad never speaks up to say he wants anything, so it’s a really big deal when he says he wants curry puff.

I’ve just started my new gig(s) working in downtown Oakland. It’s a homecoming of sorts, I worked in downtown Oakland for most of the 90’s. Since it’s been so long, I don’t really know which Chinese bakery is good anymore. So I plan to go to all the bakeries in Chinatown and buy a curry puff from each, to bring home, where Joe and I will taste them for dinner.

The commute is still long, but I have better options than I did ten years ago: I’m car-pooling some days with an Indian guy from Cupertino (except he’s looking for a new job in South Bay, because he’s tired of the commute.) We have really interesting conversations about Indian culture. It’s also more feasible to take transit, since the BART extension to SFO/Millbrae Caltrain opened in the early 2000’s. I can make it door to door in about 1 hr 15 mins in the morning; coming home takes closer to two hours.

Leave a Reply

