Lagniappe 2008

This year, they were mostly Joe’s picks . . . .

1. Life In Technicolor – Coldplay
For those of us burnt out on Viva La Vida
2. Paper Planes – M.I.A.
Featured in Slumdog Millionaire
3. American Boy (Feat. Kanye West) – Estelle
Someone actually likes us Yanks
4. Tequila Makes Her Clothes Fall Off – Joe Nichols
Heard uniquely country lyrics on radio in San Diego over Thanksgiving.
5. Gold Digger – Kanye West Feat. Jamie Foxx
Ray Charles’ inspired hook.
6. Big Time Sensuality – Bjork
Think Wayne’s World
7. I Walk The Line – Johnny Cash
Pretty much sums up Celia’s work (paid and unpaid) this year
8. Bang The Drum All Day – Todd Rundgren
Plans delayed by the recession.
9. Juke Box Hero – Foreigner
Not surprised this is on Guitar Hero.
10. Low [Feat T-Pain] – Flo Rida
We couldn’t remember exact lyrics during trivia contest.
11. Boiling Frog – Pat Wynne
Another one of those songs you catch radio surfing in the car
12. Heat Wave – Linda Ronstadt
80+°F in November in Bay Area. Al Gore is grinning somewhere.
13. Nine Million Bicycles – Katie Melua
Beijing population: 17 million humans; 3 million cars. Now, about those Olympic blue skies . . .
14. Disturbia – Rihanna
Her overplayed “ma ma se, ma ma sa, ma ma coo sa” song was another trivia question
15. Suburbia – Pet Shop Boys
Inclusion here motivated by previous song title.
16. Subdivisions – Rush
Word association game continues …
17. Crazy – Willie Nelson
Might be the most country songs we’ve ever put on these CDs.
18. Joy Spring – Clifford Brown & Max Roach
Because we’re in need of good cheer . . which can be found on KCSM
19. Islands In The Stream – Bee Gees
Not the usual falsetto and some different lyrics from the Kenny and Dolly version.
20. New Soul – Yael Naïm
Apple’s replaced Gap for annual catchy commercial tunes.

One thought on “Lagniappe 2008

  1. Hi Celia,
    I pulled out this CD the other day and your letter from Christmas. I don’t think I ever thanked you for sending such a great gift and a compendium of music that made me laugh and think. Also, I read Murakami’s book and gave one as a Christmas present. It helped me a lot with the whole mental prep think for the triathlon. I was reminiscing on how much I enjoyed working with you! I know it was a rough climb for a while. Anyway, hope things are going fine. I finally got the hang of the clipless pedals on my bike, so i feel fancy with my professional cycling shoes. have done some awesome bike rides lately for my training and some major hill-age. Anyhoo, enjoy your commute. Eric bought a tricked out folding bike, so I am dying to see how it looks.

Leave a Reply

