Strawberry guava

Yesterday I biked over to Cupertino to see my friend Anne, whom I haven’t seen in a while. “I’m taking you on an errand of mercy when you get here,” she said when I called her to say I was running late, (i.e. biking too slug-like to get to her place by the appointed time.) It turns out her friend Anita was (a) in pain from kidney stones and (b) needed help picking the strawberry guavas that had fallen off her tree.

SCORE!

I only encountered strawberry guavas a couple of years ago, when we were at Joe’s parents house, and a friend of theirs gave them some. The fruit looks like a green lime, but with a tiny four-leaf stub at the end. You bite into it, and the core is sweet, pulpy and tangy. The skin is sour and astringent (almost like citrus skin). Both my sister-in-law and I like them very much (we’ve got that South-east Asian fondness for sour things.) When we went for a walk near the San Diego County administration building, we noticed that there were some strawberry guava trees in the landscaping. And wondered if the homeless people knew to pick the fruit and eat them.

I never knew where to get them in Northern California. Anne was surprised to find someone else who liked them. “Most people don’t like it because of the perfumey flavor.” She was doubly surprised when I popped the whole thing into my mouth. “Anita taught us to cut it half, and scoop the inside out with a coffee spoon.”

I got to take many strawberry guavas home. I’m passing some on to my gardening friend Karen to try!

The other cool thing about yesterday was biking around Cupertino (Anne is amongst other things, a civil, civic and community activist) She showed me the BMX park at Calabasas Park, and the redone Blackberry Farm/McClellan Ranch (with its own little segment of the Stevens Creek Trail, which hopefully in our lifetime, will be connected to the Mountain View segments.)

But the best thing of all, was that I finally got to bike over the Mary Ave Bike/Pedestrian Overcrossing of the I-280. It opened up for public use this spring. Yours truly played a tiny role in assembling the funding for the project almost ten years ago (when the cost estimate was about 1/5th of what it ended up actually costing.) Ten years! That’s how it takes these bike/pedestrian crossings to get from concept to concrete.

Leave a Reply

