After 2012, I’ll never have to buy another calendar again

Happy New Year! Since it is January 1, I went to change my calendar. Surprisingly enough we didn’t get any calendars (via presents or freebies from stores), I had to dig through my pile of old calendars to find a re-usable one. Some years I actually get new calendars (free), so I have “duplicates”.

Since 2010 is not a leap year, and today (Januray 1st) is a Friday, I looked for a 1999 calendar. No luck. I can’t believe I didn’t have a 1999 calendar. But that’s probably because I didn’t buy or get a 1999 calendar, because for that year I re-used a 1993 calendar, which also started January 1 on a Friday. The calendar features photographs of Lake Tahoe. I probably got it as a gift from someone, since I’m not into buying landscape scenery for calendars. Most of the ones I got are rather cartoony, like Peanuts, Far Side, etc.

One only needs a set of 14 calendars, for January 1 on Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, etc on non-leap years, and then a corresponding set for leap years. Since I’ve been saving calendars since 1988, I’ve almost completed my set of 14. I’ve got leap year calendars from 1988 (Friday), 1992 (Wednesday), 1996 (Monday), 2000 (Saturday), 2004 (Thursday), 2008 (Tuesday). The last leap year calendar I need is 2012 (Sunday), and then I’m done.

Non-leap calendars can be reused more often. The set goes like this for Janaury 1 on the following days of the week:

Sunday: 1995, 2006, 2017
Monday: 1990, 2001, 2007
Tuesday: 1991, 2002, 2013
Wednesday: 1997, 2003, 2014
Thursday: 1998, 2009, 2015
Friday: 1999, 2010, 2021
Saturday: 1994, 2005, 2011

So next year, 2011, I have two 2005 calendars, one of Picasso prints, and a freebie from Sears that features Chinese folkart that is actually pretty cool.

Obvioulsy, while the dates for holidays like Forth of July and Thanksgiving will be correct, the preprinted dates for events based on the lunar calendar, like Chinese New Year and moon phases, will not be correct when you reuse these Gregorian calendars.

The neat thing about re-using calendars is when you see notes marked on dates when you first used the calendar. So the ones from my college years are marked “Math midterm”, “Chem final”, etc !

Leave a Reply

