Phew! App was app’d

No, I’m not talking about smart phones. The (grant) application (I wrote for an agency I worked for) was approved.

Last year, one of the major projects I worked on as a contractor was pulling together a grant application to Caltrans. The proposed project was a worthwhile one, I was just worried that the application didn’t sell it well enough, even though I put a lot of work into it. The matching funds for the project was a bit convoluted, because it was differentiated for various phases.

Competition was going to be fierce, especially with the State’s perpetual budget woes. I read a peer agency’s application for the same grant program (because I was charged with writing a letter of support for it), and I was worried, almost envious, because their application was really well-written. I would have felt really bad if my agency didn’t get the grant, because they paid me to put so many hours into it! However I forgot all about it after the summer until I had to look up something today on Caltrans’ website, and wandered into that section. I checked the approved projects list, and PHEW!, it got funded.

It might have been given a little less than what we requested (I can’t remember now), so hopefully the discount was due to Caltrans’ budget, and not my poor writing!

One thought on “Phew! App was app’d

Leave a Reply

