falling off the wagon

Wow, it’s been another long stretch I’ve gone without posting. A combination of things, I was working on the proposal (didn’t get the gig), then right afterwards I came down with a sore throat/cough, which always takes me a while to get over.

Why does it always take so much longer to get over a sore throat/cough than a cold. I essentially avoid biking and swimming when that happens, so the lack of exercise and being trapped indoors drives me a little nuts. Especially when I have to cancel social engagements because I don’t want to get people sick.

While I was sick I did read a lot of books (the only place I went to was the library.) Of the books I read, these are the ones I’d recommend.

Flow: the cultural history of menstruation
Sir Vidia’s Shadow
Orange County:a personal history
Alan’s War: the memories of G.I. Alan Cope
Why I killed Peter
The adventures of Blanche

Anyways I got well in time for … allergy season! I made up for the lack of exercise by going hiking at Elkhorn Slough yesterday with Joe (followed cioppino at Phil’s Market, and a nap on the beach), and biking with friends, once up to Woodside/Portola Valley on Tuesday, and then the Sawyer Camp Trail today.

I’ve been doing daily battle against the sparrows. Last year this time, they built a nest under the eaves of my porch, and made a big poopy mess. But I waited too long, there were already eggs in the nest, so I had to wait they were hatched and gone before cleaning up. This year, they came back, but each day as they try to add/build their nest, I take my long broom and brush off the partial nest. Then the next day they’re back again. I come out with my broom again.

It reminds me of that stupid parable about Robert the Bruce and the spider spinning its web seven times (moral: try, try again.) I’m just wondering. How many times does it take before the the stupid sparrows figure out they’re not welcome here and just go build their dangetty nest in the tree on the street already!

The lovely thing about spring is artichokes. This year, I’ve been harvesting them much smaller, so they are more tender.

Leave a Reply

