Strangefruit

(clockwise) mangosteen, tomate de arbol, pitahaya, lulo and curuba

We did the fruit experiment: bought one piece of each fruit we didn’t recognize: pitahaya, lulo tomate de arbol, curuba, and for good measure, mangostino. (Mangosteens, because I love them. Apparently they were introduced to Colombia about ten years ago, through a telenovela wshere this character ate a lot of them.) It turns out that I picked ones that weren’t fully ripe, and were a bit on the sour side. Carolina told me most of these fruits are usually made into juice, with sugar added.

Pitacaya: inside it looks like dragonfruit, and pretty much tastes like dragonfruit. So the peel is orange/green in Colombia, but pink/green in Asia

Lulo: Similar to passion-fruit, with lots of little seeds in pulp. There is a subtle fragrance to it. You don’t eat the skin.

There’s also granadilla (which Joe posted a photo on instagram), and maracuya (another passion-fruit like fruit.) I like passion-fruit very much, so all these variations are fun for me. One thing I miss about Australia is that you can get passion-fruit as a ‘standard’ type of fruit yogurt, the way strawberry yogurt is very common in the US.

Tomate de arbol: (Tree tomato?): Looks like a pointy plum, smooth skin. The flesh is like a cross between cantaloupe and plum, and was sour. The seeds were crunchy, and Carolina told me you were supposed to eat the seeds, not the flesh!

Curuba: A core of little seeds in orange pulp, like that in passionfruit, in what looks like a pickle cucumber-sized si qua. Rather sour, the seeds were a bit bitter when you crunched them.

5 thoughts on “Strangefruit

  1. Mangosteens – you can get them here too! And they’re not frozen.
    They are from Mexico and yummy.
    They are not as fresh as what you get there but good enough.

      • Well the box that the fruits came in said Mexico. Wait or was it Guatemala?
        Well the Rambutans are from Mexico and they are here too!
        Oh my sister had eaten Mangosteen when she vacationed in Kauai. She said they were fresh from people’s backyard.

  2. Dorothy told us a story of her sisters getting a type of fruit when they were in Hawaii and didn’t know how to eat it. Anyway, they ate the flesh and threw away the seeds only to find out later that they ate the wrong part of the fruit.

  3. Addendum: As part of yesterday’s meals, which were very snacky, I had

    1) a tomate de arbol ice cream. It tastes like the fruit in ice cream form (I forgot to ask if they make it using the seeds or flesh.)

    2) curuba smoothie. Here you can get basic smoothies made with fruit, sugar, ice and choice of water or milk. I was going to get the water-based one, but the guy recommended that milk-based tasted better. (I was a bit worried that the milk had been sitting out all day might give me an upset stomach, but so far, 12 hours later, I’m OK. Take that, Maison de Truffe, Paris!) They added 2 heaping tablespoons of sugar! That’s why these smoothies taste so good. But I can see why milk is better, the seeds have a slight bitterness which is better tempered by milk than water.

    3) corozo smoothie: I don’t know what the fruit looks like, but it tastes like Santa Rosa plum.

    4) costena cereza ice cream: I think it’s ‘coastal cherry’.

    I remember thinking as I wrote this post that I wish I were an oenophile, because then I would have the lexicon with which to describe all these fruits better. It always boggles my mind how someone can say “and this wine has blackberry, pineapple flavors with nuances of tobacco and WD-40” I can never separate out and identify those things.

Leave a Reply

